Welcome to Sue Thomson's Spiritual Focus Photography

Photographer Sue Thomson with Home, Corporate, & Church Based Art plus Poetry and Christian Perspectives

SNAPSHOT # 4: Giving Voice To My Sexual Molestation 48 Years Later…

 

if-you-tell

SNAPSHOT # 4: GIVING VOICE TO MY SEXUAL MOLESTATION…48 YEARS LATER              I was sexually molested when I was in elementary school… by a neighbor.  I never told anyone until the night that Jim proposed to me. I was in 5th or 6th grade when it started… and yet I felt ashamed and guilty of something that was truly not my fault.  It was someone using their power to take advantage of and hurt another person, but I am sure he was unable to see it that way.  His actions haunted me and affected me for years and years to come.  When my children were in elementary school, I found out he was running a daycare and I went to the police. They already had an undercover policewoman working at the daycare, because other accusations had been made against him. Imagine the pain I felt for not coming forward until maybe 25 or more years later. I only told the police, a few close friends, and eventually my daughters, but I was always afraid of how my parents would react, so I kept silent.  They still do not know, but the world has changed and I must now stand up for things that are so easily dismissed by others. People question why women or men wait to come forward to tell of their abuse.  You would know the answer if you walked in our shoes…  Again, I am asking that you respect my wishes and not post any argumentative or negative comments in regards to my posts.  More tomorrow…

2 comments on “SNAPSHOT # 4: Giving Voice To My Sexual Molestation 48 Years Later…

  1. Barbara Taylor
    November 13, 2016

    My heart aches for the pain you went through as a young child and that you carried for so many years. Thank you for sharing your story. Maybe it will encourage others who have experienced similar abuse to come forward. God bless you!

  2. Paul Lamb
    December 28, 2016

    I understand. It’s taken me 44 years to understand.

Leave a Reply

November 2016
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Sue Thomson

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

